A quick summary of how Platform handles syncing and what causes sync conflicts
Platform, through Syncthing, uses a database to track the modified date and time of files. When it detects a file that is newer than the recorded entry in the database, it initiates the synchronization process. However, if it encounters two or more files that are newer than the recorded entry, a sync conflict occurs.
When multiple editors are accessing a file simultaneously, Syncthing cannot update those files while they are in use. If one editor closes the file with any changes that alter the modification date, the other systems will sync the updated file.
If the second editor then closes their file, they will see that their file is newer than the previously existing version on their machine, and there is also a newer version on other machines. This creates a conflict on their machine.
The other machines may not immediately detect the conflict because they will not attempt to sync the conflicted file until the conflict is resolved and it is determined which file version should be kept.
The conflicts are settled by the user who has the conflict. Once they pick a file to keep, the other systems will update if they choose a different version than what they have.