Restore Location

The Restore Location section is used to determine the destination for the files being restored.

restore location

Restore to a Platform Space

restore to platform space

When restoring the request to a Platform Space, the system will restore all of the files, folders or Platform Space’s requested underneath the chosen Platform Space. When the operator chooses to restore to a Platform Space, the system will bring up list of folders within that Platform Space. The default location of the root of the Platform Space will be selected, however, the operator may choose any folder in the hierarchy as the destination for the restore.

Restore to a Storage Group

If an operator chooses to restore the request to a Storage Group, files, folders and Platform Spaces in the restore request will be copied to the root of the storage group. Normally operators should only restore Platform Space’s to Storage Groups.

restore to storage group

Restore Directories

restore directories

This option is selected by default and causes the Platform to restore the entire file path as it was originally copied to tape to the destination location (Platform Space or Storage Group). This is normally the option chosen when restoring a Platform Space back to a Storage Group.

If an operator wishes to restore a simple list of files that were selected form the Search Results screen, they may wish to deselect the ‘Restore Directories’ checkbox. When deselected, the system will restore only files to the root of the destination location (Storage Group or Platform Space).

When an operator chooses to restore files without directories, it is important to understand if there are multiple files within the source directory structure with the same name. If there are two or more files with the same name, the restore process will run into an error overwriting the second file with the same name. (See ‘In case of conflict:’ below).

In Case of Conflict

in case of conflict

During the restore process, if the Platform System encounters a file already located in the destination location, by default it will not overwrite the same files and will report an error in the restore log. If this happens, the system will still continue with the restore, however, the restore job will show an error when finished.

The Platform has the option of choosing the option to ‘Overwrite same file names regardless of modified date’. If this option is chosen, the system will restore the files on tape to the destination location. This occurs in the order in which the files are on tape. i.e. even files earlier on tape can be overwrite by files later on tape in the same restore task.

File Verification (MD5 Checksum). See the explanation of MD5 Checksum above.

Priority – The Priority field allows the operator to determine the task queue priority of the job. If tasks are queued in the task system, the will be run in priority order. By default, tasks go in as medium priority. This allows the operator to schedule a job with high priority which will run before any medium tasks in the queue.

Schedule – The task scheduling options allow the operator to have the task start immediately or at a future time. The system will also allow the restore to be scheduled for a future date/time. See Task Scheduling Options in the Task section for more details.

After clicking on the Okay button, the system will submit the restore job to the task system and it will start when the selected tape drive is available.