Platform Spaces Screen

The Platform Spaces screen is the default screen that appears when a user logs into the Platform System and is the typical focal point to access information from the Platform.

Platform spaces screen with storage groups

Figure 11 - Platform Spaces Screen with Storage Groups

There are two possible views for the Platform Spaces screen. The first as demonstrated above in Figure 11, shows the screen when a user has feature permissions to the Storage Group screen. In this view, the system will separate and list Platform Spaces associated with each Individual Storage Group. This is the default view for the System Administrator and provides the ability to easily create new Platform Spaces and place them on a particular storage group.

platform spaces screen without storage groups

Figure 12 - Platform Spaces Screen without Storage Groups

The second view (Figure 12 – Platform Spaces Screen without Storage Groups) lists all Platform Spaces when a user does not have Feature Permissions access to the Storage Group screen. This view provides a simplified version allowing users to just see Platform Spaces.

Storage Group Tabs

storage group tabs

When logged into the system with a user name that has feature permission access to the Storage Group Screen, tabs representing the currently attached Storage Groups will appear at the top of the Platform Space Information Grid. These tabs automatically separate Platform Spaces that are attached to the storage group. By clicking on the tab, the operator will see the Platform Spaces for each Storage Group.

Platform Space Filter

platform space filter

If there are more than 10 Platform Spaces listed for the logged in user, the system will present a Platform Space filter box in the upper right hand corner of the screen. This filter can be used to pare down the list of Platform Spaces that are displayed. This feature is valuable when users have multiple-pages of Platform Spaces to easily find one or more by a common name. For instance, if you label all of your project spaces with ‘Project’ that can be typed into the Filter and the System will just display Platform Spaces with Project in the name. This filter also remains in place when the operator moves away from the Platform Spaces screen and then comes back.

Platform Space Information Grid

Users that have been given feature permissions to the Platform Spaces screen will see one line in the grid for each Platform Space that they have at least read access to. If a user has not been given any access to a Platform Space, it will not show in the grid. This approach allows administrators to give specific content access to specific users.

The Platform Spaces grid is an ‘auto-refresh’ grid. This means the system will automatically update the grid with information every X seconds as defined in the Administration screens under Platform Spaces.

platform spaces grid

Figure 13 Platform Spaces Grid

Platform Space icon – This icon provides a visual indicator of Platform Space features or current activity within the Platform Space. Options include:

avid collaboration volume

Avid® Collaboration Volume. See details below.

avid without collaboration option

Avid® Collaboration Volume without the Collaboration Option installed on the workstation. When the Platform Listener is installed on a given workstation, the administrator chooses if they wish to install the collaboration software. If they do not install the option, this red line is displayed for Avid® Collaboration Volumes.

After effects render space

After Effects® render Space. When properly enabled, this icon indicates that a Platform Space has been designated an After Effects® render space. Finished projects submitted to the server and saved in this space will be picked up by the Platform and submitted to be rendered on the server.

collect or reindex

This animated icon indicates that the system is currently collecting or re-indexing file information into the Platform Catalog database.

proxies or transcoding

This icon indicates that proxies or a transcoding operation is being performed on videos in the Platform Space. If the operator right-click’s on the Platform Space and chooses Properties, they can see the number of files being transcoded and the total duration of those files.

platform space is a mirror

This Platform Space is a mirror of another Platform Space. See Platform Space Mirrors below for detailed information on mirror functionality.

active copy or move operation

Representing an active copy or move operation, this icon tells the operator that data within a Platform Space, or the entire Platform Space is currently part of a task. The operator can look further at status in the Task Screen or the Performance Screen.

Platform Space Background Color – The background color of the Platform Space row provides key information to the operator about the volume:

no color

If the Platform Space background color is white, it means the Space is housed on a Standard Platform RAID Storage Group which can offer the fasters and most reliable performance.

not optimal

A light yellow background indicates the Platform Space was created on an external 3rd Party Storage Group and is colored to show the user that it may not be optimized for streaming performance.

degraded

A light Red color indicates one of two possibilities. First, it could mean that the Storage Group has a failed drive in it and therefore the RAID is degraded. This is a serious condition and could result in data loss if it is not addressed. See Storage Group Legend Color for more information about this possibility. Second, it can mean that this Platform Space participates in a Mirror and the mirror set is not yet completely synced. Normally a mirror sync operation will finish over type and the color will turn back to white or yellow depending on the storage group type. If this Space is part of a mirror and the color does not change back over time, check the status of the Mirror Task in the Task Screen.

Platform Space Grid Columns

Name – This is the name of the Platform Space.

Max- The maximum amount of data that can be added to the space. Users will receive a disk is full message if they attempt to add beyond this number.

Used – Indicates that amount of data that is currently in the Platform space. Since the Platform is an active server with potentially many user’s activity updating, this information can change as the Platform Space Grid is automatically refreshed.

Status – There are four possibilities for the Platform Status column:

Dismounted – Indicating that the Volume is not mounted on the current workstation.

Mounted – The Volume is mounted on the current workstation and the operator may use their OS file browser (Apple Finder® or Windows Explorer®) to push and pull information from the Platform Space.

Dismounting… - The system is currently in the progress of closing the mount point to the server.

Mounting… - The system is currently attempting to mount the Platform Space to the local workstation.

capacity

Capacity – a graphical representation of the amount of space used vs. the total space available.

Platform Space Buttons

When logged into the system with Feature Permissions to the Storage Group screen, the system will display the following buttons below the Platform Spaces Grid:

create new platform space

Clicking this button allows the operator to create a new Platform Space on the Storage Group they are position upon. See Create a New Platform Space below.

add existing platform space

When a user wants to add a Platform Space that already exists on the Storage Group (root folder at the top of a storage group), they can use this button. See Adding an Existing Platform Space below.

mount all platform spaces

When a user is logged into the system without Feature Permission to the Storage Group screen, they will have the following buttons available below the Platform Spaces Grid.

dismount all platform spaces

When clicking this button, the Platform client software will begin to mount all of the Platform Spaces available to the client.

The Platform client software will begin to dismount each Platform Space already mounted for the client.

Platform Space Initialization

After the Platform Server first starts up, upon login, the user may receive the message “Platform Spaces are currently being initialized. Platform Spaces will display as they become available”.

platform space initilization

This message indicates to the operator that the system is not finished setting up all the Platform Spaces in the system. The operator may proceed to utilize the system; however, they should be aware that not all of their Platform Space volumes will be listed until the message is no longer displayed. It is also important to be aware that any jobs listed in the task service will not start until all Platform Spaces are initialized.