Connections Tab

The Network Connections tab is used to add or remove NIC (Network Interface Connection) connections into the Platform System. NIC connections must be added to the connection tab before any users can log into the system.

Without NIC connections added to this grid, the only way to log into the Platform System is through the monitor and keyboard connected to the server itself.

Additionally, until NIC Connections have been added, the Task Server will not Operate and Jobs scheduled will not start.

connections tab

Ignore Optimization Warnings

Optimization warnings occur when the Client Workstation Listener determines that the workstation settings are not optimal for streaming to the Platform. Normally, this checkbox should remain unchecked. When it is checked, client workstations will not be notified that their system is running in a sub-optimal configuration.

Network Interface Connections Grid

The Connections Grid contains the following information about each connection in the system.

Connection. This is the name of the connection and can be changed within the Windows Operating System on the Platform Server.

Server. This is the Platform Server Node where the connection is physically located.

Speed. This is the current speed that the NIC is operating under. The speed is determined by the highest possible speed of the NIC card and the speed of the client computer it is connected to, whichever is lower.

IP. This is the IP address of the NIC on the server.

Priority. The NIC priority can either be High or Low. By clicking on the URL (High, Low), the operator can change the priority. The priority is used by the system when mounting volumes from a client workstation. If a client workstation has 2 possible routes (2 different IP connections) to the server to mount a Platform Space, the system will always use the high priority connection. The administrator should always set the high speed, lowest latency NIC connection to High.

Enabled/Disabled. This indicates that the connection is enabled or disabled. When disabled, no communication can occur on the NIC. This field is a toggle which allows the operator to enable or disable the NIC as necessary.

Max MB/sec. If an administrator wishes to place a total speed restriction on this connection, they can update this field. By entering a MB/sec value here, the system will restrict all data pulled form that connection to the total Megabytes per second entered. To remove the restriction, the administrator can delete the entry or set it to zero and click on the Apply Changes.

Status. The status graph will show either Green or Red indicating if the connection is active and con communicate or inactive and cannot communicate.

NIC Connection Right-Click Options

The administrator has the following right-click options available on the connections grid:

NIC connection right click options

Disable. This performs the same function as Enable / Disable described above.

Remove. The remove command is used to cause the NIC to not show in the system any longer. It is a best practice to only add NIC connections to the grid if they are being used in the Platform system.

Add Existing Connection

The add existing connection button brings up a dialog window with a list of NIC ports that have not yet been added to the Platform.

add existing network connection

The administrator will click on the ‘Select’ URL next to the connection they wish to add. The administrator can only add one connection at a time with this button.

Add All Connections

add all connection

This button will add all connections that exist in the Windows Operating System that have not yet been added to the Platform.

Apply Changes

apply changes

The Apply Changes button will take any changes made to the connections in the connections grid and apply them to the system. This typically means changes to the Max MB/sec field.

Reset Connections

reset connection

Most Platform Network Connections can issue DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) addresses to client machines when connected to a Platform NIC. Normally when a new client is connected directly to a Platform NIC, the system will issue A DHCP address to that client automatically.

This Reset Connections button, allows the administrator to force issue new DHCP addresses to any client system connected to a Platform NIC that is waiting for a DHCP address. Pressing this button will not affect any client that is already connected to the system.